Miss Vanessa Ives – Penny Dreadful

Today I present You one of my personal favorites – miss Vanessa Ives, from Penny Dreadful TV series. Vanessa is a seductive and formidable beauty, a lady of her era, full of secrets and hidden danger. She is keenly observant and an expert medium. Her supernatural gifts are powerful and useful to those around her, but they are also a heavy burden for herself.

She often wears dark, almost black, colors, and staying true to her personality, appears dressed in a stately, polished manner and maintains an air of refinement and inscrutability.
Still – you can see oceans of sorrow and flames of hidden daemons in her eyes…

This piece took me forever – I carefully studied all scenes where she appeared in outfit  chosen by my client, along with Victorian Era paintings, drawings and seamstresses books.
Her blouse is two layered piece, hand sewn from black guipure lace and champagne rayon. Dress is based on original victorian pattern, sewn  with train and ribbon trim.
But even if clothes took me lots of time, the hardest part was painting her faceup – since I am such a big fan of Eva Green – my hands were shaking and I hold my breath every time I draw a line….

And I must say – I am truly pleased with how she turned out, even knowing that Eva Green, who played miss Ives, is the most beautiful woman on this Earth and I captured only a blink of her grace  ❤

Materials used:
– for reroot: fair-trade pure alpaca fur
– for clothing: guipure laces, svarovski crystals, rayon, velvet trim
– for repaint: soft pastels, watercolor pencils, false lashes, actylics, inks

Leave a Reply

